Career Center   |   Member Search   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
Excellence Awards & Recognition Program
Share |

MHCA is proud to host an annual Award & Recognition Program to recognize those deserving individuals who play such an important role in the lives of our residents!  Below you will find details on our Essay Contest and the individual nomination Awards, as well as the names of last year's winners. 



Essay Contest

Your residents are a part of living history.  Their wisdom, love and strength make your job unique.  Every day you see smiling faces, warm hearts, and loving eyes through your wonderful residents.  In many ways, as you care for these wonderful people, the experiences you receive can change your life for the better.  Put your thoughts and feelings on paper by composing an essay on:


"How Helping Our Residents Has Helped Me!"


A 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winner will be selected through an independent panel of judges.  The 1st place winner will receive a plaque and recognition during our Opening General Session & Awards Presentation to be held August 26, 2019 at MHCA's 71st Annual Convention in Branson, MO.


Download 2019 Essay Contest Packet


2018 Essay Contest Winners:


1st Place - Rose Carroll, Oak Tree Villas - Read the winning essay

2nd Place - Donna Barns, Meramec Nursing Center

3rd Place - Shelly Keel, Adrian Manor Health & Rehabilitation Center




Excellence Awards & Recognition Program


Now is the time to say, "Thank You!" to those who go the extra mile for the betterment of the long-term care profession and the residents they serve!  Is there a dedicated volunteer at your facility?  Perhaps you have an outstanding employee or CNA?  MHCA knows it takes very special people to enhance the quality of care and quality of life for your residents.  Please show your appreciation for everything they do by taking a few moments to nominate them for an award!


Nomination Categories - We welcome you to submit a nomination for each category!  You may complete the online nomination forms by clicking on the category titles below, or you can download the complete nomination packet at the bottom of this page and mail/fax your nominations to our office.


Volunteer of the Year- recognize that special volunteer who assists in your facility and has direct contact with your residents.  Volunteers must be ages 13 and over.


Employee of the Year- recognize your facility's dedicated, valuable employees: nursing staff, activities, social services, dietary, environmental services, administrative staff, etc.


CNA of the Year- recognize the most dedicated and caring CNA in your facility who strives to give quality of care to all residents.


David Duncan Administrator of the Year - recognize your administrator for going above and beyond the call of duty and making your facility a great place for staff and residents.


District level winners in each category will be invited to attend the Opening General Session & Awards Presentation to be held August 26, 2019 during MHCA's 71st Annual Convention in Branson, MO.


Download 2019 Awards Packet


2018 Award Winners:

Volunteer of the Year - Rev. Dr. Jeff Moore, Cooper House

Employee of the Year - Vanessa Ashenfelter, Monroe Manor

CNA of the Year - Becky Haven, Brooke Haven Healthcare

David Duncan Administrator of the Year - Sherri Beasley, Gainesville Health Care Center


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal